Leaf Sprigs or Not?

I stitched the ice dyed flower piece to the background, got all the flowers stitched down and now I have to decide if I want to add the leaf sprigs or not.

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERAHere is the entire piece with the added leaf sprigs and an extra cheesecloth flower on the left edge.

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERAHere it is without the leaf sprigs (I left the flower).

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERAHere’s a closer view with the extra leaves.

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERAAnd without. What do you think? Should I use the leaf sprigs or not? I can’t decide.

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERAI did add a little bit of stitching out into the border of additional leaves.

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERASo there are leaves going over the border of the red into the green. So do you think I need to add the leaves? What’s your vote? Do you have any good ideas for a name for the piece? I keep calling it ice flowers but not sure that’s really a good name.

 

 

 

 

 

21 thoughts on “Leaf Sprigs or Not?

  1. I like the stitched leaves going over into the border – very pretty – but my vote is for no extra sprigs.

    I like the name ‘ice flowers’, and as the finished piece has a very ‘warm’ look it would be a quirky title wouldn’t it? Go for it.

  2. I think the leaf sprigs take away from your beautiful flowers and leaves. When I see this, I think “Spring Azaleas” so that would be the name I’d suggest. Lovely work.

  3. It’s gorgeous Ruth. I agree with Lyn no sprigs. My 4 year old grandson was looking at with me and told me liked it and he wants to meet you. I said you lived far away and he said “we’ll just have to go on an airplane then.” šŸ™‚

  4. My vote is for less sprigs too, I like the 4th picture down best but feel something is needed about 1/3 of the way up on the right hand side (a small leaf sprig perhaps?). I love how you have the leaves erupting from the frame, absolutely beautiful!

    • Thanks Teri – the leaves erupting came because the background fabric looked just like leaves up in the top left corner. So I thought it would really bring the two pieces of fabric together. I might add a small cheesecloth flower in the spot you think needs something. It is rather blank there.

  5. It’s beautiful! I’m also in the “no sprigs” camp – I think the extra flowers add enough texture. And the embroidered leaves in the border really bring the piece together. Lovely!

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to hear your comments so please let me know what you think.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.