More Fiber Art Cards and Hoover Dam

Last week, went to Las Vegas to go to a wholesale buyers show for the store.  It was a pretty small show so we had time for a little site seeing.

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

Here’s a bad photo out of our hotel room. I know it’s desert in Las Vegas, but the dryness of the landscape is such a change from north west Montana.

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

We decided to go to Hoover Dam and it has really changed since the last time we were there. They have built a very tall bridge over the Colorado River which is the dividing line between Nevada and Arizona. The bridge is built to accommodate pedestrians so we walked across it. I don’t like heights much but survived.

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

This is a photo of Hoover Dam looking down from the bridge. It is a massive structure. It was built in the 1930’s.

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

This is  the bridge that we walked over. It is a good thing I didn’t see it from this perspective before I walked across  it. It’s another impressive feat of engineering.

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

Here I am in the bowels of the dam in front of the generators.

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

This photo is taken looking down towards the river. I liked the juxtaposition of the different textures, natural and  man made.

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

After I got home, we had our monthly surface design meeting. We did some ice dyeing and made fiber art cards. The photo above shows two different cards. They need some stitching. I am trying to decide between machine and hand stitching.

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

Two more designs.

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

And the last two. I will show these again once they are stitched. Please go over to the Felting and Fiber Studio to see my post about ice dyeing.

5 thoughts on “More Fiber Art Cards and Hoover Dam

  1. I’m not sure I would have been brave enough to go over that bridge!

    Thanks for posting the photos – very enjoyable to look at.

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to hear your comments so please let me know what you think.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.