Playing with Plaid

This week for Level 3 Art and Design homework I have been playing with plaid. I started by finding some examples online and then doing a “copy” of that style of plaid. Then I started branching out a little.

Here are some of my plaid samples. They are a combination of paint and markers. The ones towards the left and top are less formal plaid styles and were fun to do. I’m not all that good at doing really even lines and symmetrical work. I like less symmetrical.

Then I decided to make a little concertina book in plaid. I used tape to mask off the white paper first and then added plaid over top of the tape in blues and greens. Then I removed the tape and folded the concertina book. The book is 4.5″ x 3″ made from a 9″ x 12″ page. Not sure what I’ll do with it but I like it.

And here are two more collages using complementary painted pages. I thought I would try a little weaving. So it definitely fits in with the plaid theme.

I was going to use both of these woven pieces on one collage but it was way too busy so I did two. Hope you have a good weekend and thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “Playing with Plaid

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to hear your comments so please let me know what you think.

