Sketch While You Wait

I was waiting this morning while my husband underwent a procedure. So I took a long my sketchbook, Inktense pencils and a water pen.

Mountain Orchid

This is a sketch of a Mountain Orchid from a photo my sister took while she was here. It’s also known as a lady slipper. I worked on this sketch for several days and had painted the center portion with white acrylic paint so that it would cover the background green. These are really cool flowers and I like how the sketch came out. I think it would be cool to try to felt one of these flowers in gigantic size compared to the real flowers.

DSC_6755

Here’s the photo of the flower. I now see some details that I didn’t get into the sketch and the scanner didn’t catch all the shading I did on the white part of the flower.

Purple Flower

Here’s the second sketch I worked on today. This was quite a complicated flower but once I got started it wasn’t that hard to recreate. I can never remember what these are called but I have them in my front flower beds. They spread like crazy and take over but the deer don’t eat them so that works for me. In case you’re wondering, my husband is doing well. Have a great weekend!

10 thoughts on “Sketch While You Wait

  1. I’m glad to hear your husband is doing well. The sketches are great Ruth. I hadn’t heard the name lady slippers in eons. It’s wonderful that you are always creating! Kudos to you!

    • Thanks Marilyn – I hadn’t thought about lady slippers for a while either until my sister started looking for different wildflowers when she was here in June.

  2. What a good idea to take your sketchbook along to occupy you; waiting can seem interminable. The lady’s slipper is lovely, the Inktense pencils give a great effect. The purple flower looks very like our Thrift or Sea Thrift which grows in dry rocky places, often on cliffs by the sea.

    Glad your husband is doing OK. 🙂

  3. Another example of how you achieve your daily dose in a busy day – excellent example to us all!

    Your sketches are wonderful and I agree that a gigantic lady slipper would look great in felt.

  4. Glad to hear you hubby is doing well. Your sketches are lovely, I particularly like the second one, to me it looks like a pin cushion flower (AKA astrantia) but I’m not sure if you have those on the other side of the pond? Looking forward to seeing the slipper orchid in felt.

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to hear your comments so please let me know what you think.

