Smelling the Roses

Last quarter, Karen had challenged us at the Felting and Fiber Studio to make a mixed media piece. I showed you my first piece a while back but I just finished the second piece today.

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERAI started this piece with a hand dyed piece of fabric that I stapled to a canvas frame. I had planned on using it for encaustic painting but then realized that the wax would crack on the canvas. Instead, I added some Wensleydale locks to the fabric with gel medium.

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERAI then took painted fabric and made a few rolled roses. These are simple to make, just wind up the fabric and then stitch through the back to hold them together.

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERAI stitched the leaves, turned them right side out and stitched a vein down the center of the leaf.

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERAI painted the leaves with gel medium to stiffen them. The stem is a machined stitched cord.

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERAAll of the parts were glued down with gel medium. It was a fun piece and I think I’m going to try a few more on a bit larger scale.

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERACan you smell the roses?

8 thoughts on “Smelling the Roses

  1. I love it! Especially the roses. What a great use of the painted silk. The Wensleydale was a great addition for texture! Do you sleep Ruth? I guess this was a walk in the park compared to the yurt, πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to see more pieces.

    • Thanks Marilyn. I tend to do stuff in small bits of time. You can get a lot done that way. I’m hoping now that yurting is done that I can produce a lot more fiber art.

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to hear your comments so please let me know what you think.

