Design Focus Friday – Scale/Proportion

I was thinking about the size of work that I usually produce in relation to scale. Probably the smallest pieces I do are postcard (4″x 6″) size. Smaller scale pieces have to be designed carefully so that the small piece isn’t overwhelmed by too many elements.

I have found that the concept of “keep it simple” works best for me. Every time that I try something elaborate in a small scale piece, it ends up being very difficult to get all that detail in such a small space. I haven’t really done any of the “inchies” but those are definitely small enough that they really only need one element to fill up an inch of space.

How do you approach working in a small scale? Do you do any miniature type of work? Do you think working small helps to refine your design skills? How does working small affect how you then approach a large piece? Leave a comment and let me know how you approach working small. Thanks for stopping by!

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to hear your comments so please let me know what you think.

