Spring? And Needle Felted Birch Grove


Well the daffodils are finally blooming.


There are a bunch this year.


This was the first one that bloomed on Saturday. Now they are all covered in snow as it snowed today – spring in Montana. It’s supposed to be 25 degrees tonight so they’re all going to freeze. Sigh.


This is the piece that I did for this month’s Felting Forum challenge which is “nature”. I needle felted it mostly by hand although the bottom layer was done on the machine. I used all natural wool colors. It needs a frame but I haven’t gotten one yet. Thanks to Jessica because most of these fibers came from her when we did a fiber exchange.

4 thoughts on “Spring? And Needle Felted Birch Grove

  1. This is lovely work Ruth, I’m very drawn to images of tree trunks, particularly when I paint, and I’m working my way up to producing some felted versions (assuming I can get the nerve up – I always get intimidated at the point when you have an idea you want to explore, but you have that blank canvas staring back at you – the first mark is always the hardest).

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to hear your comments so please let me know what you think.

